Mix Tape Monday

Photo from leandroid on flickr

I’ve slowly been working my through the WKE series Don’t Move Here, short video episodes about the Portland music scene, and Episode Six is all about tapes. As in cassette tapes. As in homemade cassette tapes. And this episode, above all others (even the one about awesome poster designers Mike King and Guy Burwell, and believe me, I love me some cool poster design) gives me the warm, fuzzy, music-is-wonderful nostalgic feeling. Even though I was a bit young to make mix tapes with actually cool music and all of my really good mixes have been on CDs or e-mailed to me. Still, I remember sitting by the radio with my finger on the record button on my parent’s enormous stereo, waiting for my current favorite song to come on and praying, PRAYING that the DJ didn’t talk over the into. And even though I’m not sure what I would do with a mix tape if someone gave one to me – my car has a CD player, and I listen to most of my music on my computer – “mix tape” is still my preferred phrase to describe a carefully chosen assortment of music. “Playlist” isn’t ever going to cut it, and mix CD doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue.

I’m not confident enough in my own musical taste to share compilations with my friends, much less the internet, but in honor of St. Patrick’s day, allow me to present a collection of classic “bar songs” my friends and I compiled for a St. Patrick’s day celebration a few years ago. I dubbed it the “Drunk Song Sing-Along” mix because most of the songs were chosen for their power to make us want to sing (and our inability to resist breaking into song once we’ve had a few drinks). Let me preface this list with three things – 1. these are not “cool” songs, 2. we are all a product of the 80s and 90s, 3. we are all from the Midwest and cut our teeth in dive bars and VFWs and this music feels like putting on an old sweatshirt.

Art B**tches Drunk Song Sing-Along

  1. Jump Around – House of Pain
  2. Mr. Jones – Counting Crows
  3. Free Fallin’ – Tom Petty
  4. I Think I Love You – The Partridge Family (David Cassidy)
  5. Only The Good Die Young – Billy Joel
  6. Girls Just Want to Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper
  7. I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
  8. Shoop – Salt N Peppa
  9. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
  10. Me and Bobby McGee – Janis Joplin
  11. Summer of 69 – Bryan Adams
  12. Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N’ Roses
  13. I Love Rock and Roll – Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
  14. Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey
  15. Livin’ On a Prayer – Bon Jovi
  16. Piano Man – Billy Joel
  17. Love Shack – The B-52’s
  18. Pour Some Sugar On Me – Def Leppard
  19. Cecelia – Simon and Garfunkle
  20. Sweet Caroline – Neil Diamond
  21. Closing Time – Semisonic

I’m thinking about posting some favorite mixes that my friends have given me over the years… any interest?

Photo credit leandroid on flickr.

4 thoughts on “Mix Tape Monday

  1. Oh. My. God. That mix right there…that’s pretty much the soundtrack to my entire college experience. Nicely done.

  2. “We’re no strangers to love… You know the rules, and so do I”
    That’s also fun when you’re smashed. Small dude, big voice.

  3. Also, #16 is perhaps the best bar-closing song ever. I’ve karoaked… karoakeed?.. this one twice, which is 66% of my live singing endeavors.

Leave a Reply

