Interesting Tidbits from the NGA and Extreme Art Nerdiness – Or not.

Walkway at the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C. – Leo Villareal Multiverse.

Nope, not going to win any awards for my camera work.

I can’t help myself, the two times I’ve experienced this at the NGA I’ve been dumbstruck. It’s mesmerizing, beautiful, sparkly, and just plain COOL. And it reminds me of the effect in Star Wars whenever the Millenium Falcon (finally) makes the jump to lightspeed. I know next to nothing about light sculptures or installations so I don’t really have the vocabulary to discuss it, and I wish my little clip was better, because it’s really only a sliver of the actual experience.

Something I CAN expound at length about, and I know Alison can too, is Mr. Rothko. Maybe someday we should have a blog-off and see who writes a better blog about a specific work of art? Or not.

I have a weird habit of taking detail shots of my favorite paintings – inspired, I think, by all the detail slides my art history professors would take themselves (when on vacation?). They would then usually apologize about the poor quality of the image. Or they would apologize for not having a detail of something and try to describe, at length, what the detail proved about the point they were trying to make and how we would just have to “imagine” or “trust them.” Did your professors do that, too? No? Someday I’ll put together a gallery of all my random detail shots of everything from the Ishtar Gate to shadows of Calder mobiles. Or not.

2 thoughts on “Interesting Tidbits from the NGA and Extreme Art Nerdiness – Or not.

  1. OK, here’s some art nerdiness from me, too: My art history professors in college did show a lot of detail images in class. Brings back some interesting memories about their eccentricities- I bet we both have some good stories about AH professors, but that’s for another day, another post…

    I really especially enjoyed looking at art details when I would edit slides in photoshop at the art school. I had to zoom way in to get rid of all the dust and junk, so I’d see all kinds of crazy things I never noticed before. It was actually an oddly meditative experience. And many times it seemed like you could make a whole new abstract artwork from details of very figurative work.

Leave a Reply

