January Roundup

Decor: I’ve just started apartment-hunting, and I’m thinking about color palettes. Red is always a favorite, but I also like unexpected pops of blue, turquoise, and orange. Ever since I saw Amelie at least 8 years ago, I’ve wanted to find a blue lamp like the one in her living room. (The movie also inspired my college roommate and I to purchase a gnome.)

Music: New release: Vampire Weekend- Contra. My favorite track right now is “Taxi Cab.” The piano part reminds me of songs from a Wes Anderson movie soundtrack. And…probably unrelated, but the font on the album cover looks suspiciously like Futura bold. Hmm.

Clothing: Is it spring yet? This yellow shirtdress from Anthropologie tells me it must be.

Destination: Los Angeles, in March. I haven’t been there since I was a teenager. I’m looking forward to morning yoga in a palm tree-filled park and visiting two very different museums: The Museum of Jurassic Technology and the Getty (image fromĀ flickr).

2 thoughts on “January Roundup

  1. Did you know that blue lamp isn’t real? It’s computer-animated, added after filming. Ah, the things you learn when you dork-out and watch the Bonus Disk.

    I bet you could rig up a right blue lamp like that fairly easily with a lamp-making kit and some cobalt blue glass. Just a thought. :)

Leave a Reply

